South Australian politicians to decide on extreme abortion law changes soon

Action alert - South Australia

For our South Australian supporters, please contact your Members of the Legislative Council in South Australia urgently.

Tammy Franks MLC (Greens) has introduced the Statutes Amendment (Abortion Law Reform) Bill 2018 to be debated on Wednesday 27 February 2019. Abortion is already available up to 7 months in South Australia.

The bill proposes that abortion:

 

  • Will be allowed until birth with no reason required. They will not have to be performed in hospitals or by doctors.
  • There will be exclusion zones that will give police extreme powers over those who DO NO HARM. This is totally unjust, unnecessary and unsafe.

In Victoria, abortion has been deregulated since 2008 – over 10 years - with no restrictions whatsoever (with passage of Abortion Law Reform Act 2008).

Since 2008 the numbers of late term abortions have skyrocketed - 358 late term abortions in 2013 including one baby aborted at 37+ weeks for maternal psychosocial reasons. Babies are aborted live and left to die – 33 in 2016, 53 in 2012! Source

Please write to all MLCs, using the address: "Parliament House North Terrace, South Australia 5000" and ask that they reject the abortion bill. See the below table.

If unable to write, please email or phone your MLCs.

You may wish to hand deliver the letters to Parliament House (enveloped separately) to avoid postage costs.

Name  Party Phone Email
Hon Connie Bonaros SA-Best 08 8237 9100 connie.bonaros@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Emily Bourke Australian Labor Party 08 8237 9488 emily.bourke@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon John Darley Independent 08 8237 9114 john.darley@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon John Dawkins Liberal Party 1800 182 097 john.dawkins@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Tammy Franks Greens SA 08 8237 9296 Franks.office@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Justin Hanson Australian Labor Party 08 8237 9340 JustinHanson.office@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Dennis Hood Liberal Party 08 8237 9340 hood.office@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Ian Hunter Australian Labor Party 08 8237 9100 hunter.office@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Jing Lee Liberal Party 08 8237 9408 Jing.lee@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Michelle Lensink Liberal Party 08 8237 9100 Michelle.Lensink@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Rob Lucas Liberal Party 08 8237 9100 rob.lucas@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Kyam Maher Australian Labor Party 08 8237 9100 maher.office@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Andrew McLachlan CSC Liberal Party 08 8237 9182 andrew.mclachlan@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Tung Ngo Australian Labor Party 08 8237 9276 tung.mlc@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Frank Pangallo SA-Best 08 8237 9100 frank.pangallo@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Mark Parnell Greens SA 08 8237 9100 parnell@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Irene Pnevmatikos Australian Labor Party 08 8237 9100 irene.pnevmatikos@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon David Ridgway Liberal Party 08 8237 9100 david.ridgway@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Clare Scriven Australian Labor Party 08 8237 9100 scriven.office@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Terry Stephens Liberal Party 08 8237 9100 terry.stephens@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Stephen Wade Liberal Party 08 8237 9100 Stephen.Wade@parliament.sa.gov.au
Hon Russell Wortley Australian Labor Party 08 8237 9381 russell.wortley@parliament.sa.gov.au

You may also wish to watch this YouTube video containing an interview with pro-life politician Ann Bressington, who was a member of the South Australian Legislative Council from 2006 to 2014. At the 6 minute 30 second mark of the video, she discusses Babies Born Alive in South Australia, specifically babies thrown into a kidney dish and wheeled into a freezer to die.


Click here for e-newsletter

© 2019 Right to Life Australia. All Rights Reserved.